Referee Craig Wrolstad explains overturned touchdown: 'He was not able to get both feet down in bounds' taken at Gillette Stadium (Patriots)

(Bob DeChiara/USA TODAY Sports)

FOXBOROUGH — Following Sunday’s game, referee Craig Wrolstad explained the ruling that led to the decision to overturn a second-quarter Buffalo touchdown.



On the pass play, Buffalo wide receiver Kelvin Benjamin was the target of a ball from quarterback Tyrod Taylor in the corner of the end zone. After initially signaling the fact that it was a touchdown, after a review, Wrolstad and the officials ruled Benjamin wasn't able to get both feet down inbounds.

“When the receiver got confirmed control of the football, he was not able to get both feet down in bounds,” said Wrolstad, via a pool reporter. “So, his back foot was already off the ground and it stepped out of bounds. His firm control did not occur until after he had one foot off the ground.

“It was clear and obvious that he did not have control of the ball until he brought it all the way down into his chest.”

Wroldstad was asked if there was one decisive angle that clinched their decision.

“I think we looked at the angle where we had a foot drag early before he had control,” he said, “and then we looked at when he had control and then we went back again to look at the feet. It was determined clearly that he was not able to get his second foot down after he had control.”

For what it’s worth, NFL senior vice president of officiating Al Riveron posted a video on Twitter to explain the call.

"Interesting play today, as we have Benjamin attempting to make a catch in the end zone and the ruling on the field was that of a touchdown," he said. "So, we take a look here and what we see is Benjamin stretching. We have a right foot on the ground and then we have the left foot dragging. ... We do not know if he has control of the football. We go to the next shot and we know we are looking for control, so again, no control yet, no control. And by this time you can see the foot has already dragged. You can see the pellets come up here and the foot has already dragged. ... By the time he gains control, he now has control, and that foot is off the ground."

Meanwhile, former head of officiating Dean Blandino said the touchdown should have stood.

Ultimately, the Bills were forced to settle for a 23-yard field goal that ended up tying the score at 13 heading into halftime. They managed just three points the rest of the way.

Loading...
Loading...