Bruins

3 takeaways from the Bruins’ 2021 schedule

(Photo by Barry Chin/The Boston Globe via Getty Images)

At long last, we finally have Bruins games etched on the calendar for 2021.

The NHL announced its full schedule for the upcoming 2021 season on Wednesday afternoon, including the Bruins' full 56-game slate of games — starting with a season opener against the New Jersey Devils on Jan. 14.

Here is the Bruins' full schedule for the 2020-21 season.

BOSTON BRUINS 2020-21 REGULAR SEASON SCHEDULE:

JANUARY

Thursday, January 14 @ New Jersey
Saturday, January 16 @ New Jersey
Monday, January 18 @ N.Y. Islanders
Thursday, January 21 vs. Philadelphia
Saturday, January 23 vs. Philadelphia
Tuesday, January 26 vs. Pittsburgh
Thursday, January 28 vs. Pittsburgh
Saturday, January 30 @ Washington

FEBRUARY

Monday, February 1 @ Washington
Wednesday, February 3 @ Philadelphia
Friday, February 5 @ Philadelphia
Saturday, February 6 vs. Buffalo
Monday, February 8 vs. Buffalo
Wednesday, February 10 @ N.Y. Rangers
Friday, February 12 @ N.Y. Rangers
Saturday, February 13 @ N.Y. Islanders
Monday, February 15 vs. New Jersey
Thursday, February 18 vs. New Jersey
Sunday, February 21 vs. Philadelphia
Thursday, February 25 @ N.Y. Islanders
Friday, February 26 @ N.Y. Rangers
Sunday, February 28 @ N.Y. Rangers

MARCH

Wednesday, March 3 vs. Washington
Friday, March 5 vs. Washington
Saturday, March 7 vs. Philadelphia
Tuesday, March 9 @ N.Y. Islanders
Thursday, March 11 vs. N.Y. Rangers
Saturday, March 13 vs. N.Y. Rangers
Monday, March 15 @ Pittsburgh
Tuesday, March 16 @ Pittsburgh
Thursday, March 18 @ Buffalo
Saturday, March 20 @ Buffalo
Thursday, March 25 vs. N.Y. Islanders
Saturday, March 27 vs. N.Y. Islanders
Sunday, March 28 vs. New Jersey
Tuesday, March 30 vs. New Jersey

APRIL

Thursday, April 1 vs. Pittsburgh
Saturday, April 3 vs. Pittsburgh
Monday, April 5 @ Philadelphia
Tuesday, April 6 @ Philadelphia
Thursday, April 8 @ Washington
Sunday, April 11 @ Washington
Tuesday, April 13 vs. N.Y. Islanders
Friday, April 16 vs. N.Y. Islanders
Sunday, April 18 vs. Washington
Tuesday, April 20 vs. Washington
Thursday, April 22 @ Buffalo
Friday, April 23 @ Buffalo
Sunday, April 25 @ Pittsburgh
Tuesday, April 27 @ Pittsburgh
Thursday, April 29 vs. Buffalo

MAY

Saturday, May 1 vs. Buffalo
Monday, May 3 @ New Jersey
Tuesday, May 4 @ New Jersey
Thursday, May 6 vs. N.Y. Rangers
Saturday, May 8 vs. N.Y. Rangers 

Game times, as well as regional and national broadcast information will be released at a later date. As expected, the Bruins will only play against opponents in what is a revamped, regional-based "East Division" — which also features the Sabres, Devils, Rangers, Islanders, Capitals, Flyers and Penguins. The Bruins will face each of these seven opponents eight times during the regular season. The top four teams from each division will qualify for the Stanley Cup Playoffs, and the first two rounds will feature intra-divisional play. Once a single team advances from each division, the four qualifying teams will be re-seeded for the final two rounds to determine a Stanley Cup Champion.

Here are a few takeaways from Boston's upcoming 2021 slate as the B's plan ahead to the start of training camp on Jan. 3.

Baseball-style series reign supreme

While the NHL's decision to realign its divisions for the 2021 season was a byproduct of a still-closed border between the U.S. and Canada — coupled with the reduced travel that comes with only regional-based matchups — it's evident that the league is also taking additional measures towards maximizing teams' travel by scheduling a number of consecutive games against one opponent during the 2021 season.