Everything you need to know from the Bruins’ 5-2 win over the Predators in quickie form, with BSJ insight and analysis:
BOX SCORE
HEADLINES
Patrice Bergeron dominates in return: Did you expect anything less? After missing 16 games while on the mend from a rib/sternoclavicular injury, Bergeron picked up right where left off — opening the scoring for the B’s at 15:10 in the first. Not to be outdone, he added another off the power play in the third period, giving Boston the lead for good — and recording his 300th career goal in the process. In total, he finished with four points (two goals, two assists) on the night, standing as the eighth four-point outing of his career.
As a whole, Bruce Cassidy’s attempt of spreading the wealth of scoring prowess among his top-six appeared to work, with both lines combining for 15 of the B’s 29 individual scoring chances on the night. There’s another shoe to drop once Jake DeBrusk is cleared to return to game action from a concussion (which be as early as Sunday) — but for one game at least, both Bergeron and David Krejci seem to have found the right formula on their respective lines.
Overturned call swings momentum: The B’s appeared to be on a roll in the second period, with Ryan Donato tipping a puck home following an extended forecheck in Nashville’s zone orchestrated by both the Krejci and Colby Cave line. However, Donato’s tally at 8:12 was overturned following a challenge by the Predators for goaltender interference.
After a lengthy review, the call on the ice was reversed, with the league stating that Pekka Rinne was interfered with on the play by David Backes in the crease.
The league’s statement noted: "After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the Referee, the Situation Room determined that the actions of Backes impaired Rinne's ability to defend his goal. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a "GOAL" call on the ice is that the NHL Situation Room (which shall include a former referee in the Officiating Department in the decision-making process), after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Referee who made the original call, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to "Interference on the Goalkeeper," as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4."
Eh?
?CHALLENGE?
The #Preds are challenging this #NHLBruins Charlie McAvoy goal for goalie interference pic.twitter.com/a9jodYpIsJ
— Boston Bruins on CLNS (@BruinsCLNS) December 22, 2018
Goal No. 300 for Patrice Bergeron.
2-1 #NHLBruins pic.twitter.com/lG0WGoMhMC
— Conor Ryan (@ConorRyan_93) December 22, 2018
Charlie McAvoy hits Patrice Bergeron in stride
Bergeron hits the brakes
1-0 #NHLBruins pic.twitter.com/21cutaITHc
— Conor Ryan (@ConorRyan_93) December 22, 2018
